JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
My wife for some reason thinks firearms are the devil. She is afraid that I am going to harm her or the baby with one of my guns. I have been carrying guns for a living for close to 10 years and grew up with guns scattered all over the house. I just dont want them to rust sitting in my garage where all the humidity and weather change occurs. I keep the rifle's unloaded in a seperate room as the ammo and I have a nice electric safe for my pistol to keep by the bed. What if anything can i do to change her mind?

LINK

But seriously.... she needs counseling -- the fact that she thinks you are going to go on a rampage and kill her and your kid.... how would storing them in the garage make her any safer? The lack of trust is a bit disturbing.... That would be like you saying you don't trust her giving the baby a bath because she might drown the kid!

I agree with Mutoman. Take her shooting. Although I would start her off with a 22cal so she does not get scared by the kick of a higher cal. Also make sure she understands the parts of the gun, not only for safety, but to also help calm any fears she may have about what the different parts of the gun are.

Take her shooting.

I agree though I am still trying to convince my own wife to go shooting. Mine seems to soften toward the idea of guns when she finds/meets other people who believe in having them so introducing your wife to other "gun people" might help.

There is also that saying about how it is easier to get forgiveness than it is to get permission, personally it never occurred to me to ask my wife's permission to keep guns in the house but I do "compromise" by not keeping them in our bedroom (something else I hope to change)

Ahhhh....the fine balance of maintaining control while tricking the wife into thinking she is in charge.