JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I bought a brand new Pps43c pistol in 7.62 Tok with the hopes of SBRing it. But so far it's had some problems. At first it had a lot of trouble with short stroking. But after I polished the inside of the receiver and keep the bolt lubed, that's gone away. But now it has an odd problem that I'm not sure of the reason.

At the range today I had zero actual malfunctions. But it has a strange thing it does. Sometimes the recoil is extremely snappy, but then the next shot feels like I was shooting a .22. Virtually no recoil. Then back to hard snappy recoil for a couple shots and so on. This has happened with all 3 ammo types I've used. All new manufacturing. Any ideas?

I have zero knowledge of your gun. But that won't stop me. ;)

Ammunition is the first thing I'd check. Are you shooting old milsurp? I realize you said you'd tried three types of ammo but it's still worth checking.

Does it have a recoil spring set up? If so it may be worth swapping them out for Wolff springs or some other brand.

Just trying to be helpful, but it's a shot in the dark.

I appreciate the input. I've only shot new manufactured ammo so it shouldn't be that. As far as recoil spring I'm not sure if it needs to be stiffer or lighter, and I just looked and Wolff doesn't seem to make any Springs for it anyway! Not sure if anybody does.

They only sell complete build kits unfortunately.

I'm just wondering if it's headspace maybe? To have such sharp recoil then virtually none from shot to shot is weird.

I wouldn't describe the pps43 recoil as hard and snappy, about like a .223, have you checked the spent cases? Either your headspace is off or your recoil spring is too weak and it's letting the the bolt move back before pressure drops. Just to verify your pps43 is a closed bolt conversion correct?