JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I may be making a deal with a BUYER in Washington State. What is the procedure for shipping a gun (rifle) from Oregon to Washington so the buyer can take delivery? I have never done this before but I thought a private seller could ship directly to the buyers receiving FFL but please advise me on the correct procedure. Thanks.

Yes....need to ship it to FFL....typically they prefer FedEx, marked, all the bells and whistles to jack up the shipping price, but talk to the FFL first and they will tell you what to do.

FFL's dont have a preference or a say in the shipping.

Sine it is a rifle you can use UPS, Fedex or even the Post Office. No markings on the outside of the box that indicates a firearm is inside. No need for special shipping other then signature required.

Here are the links for each services requirements;
USPS, http://pe.usps.gov/text/pub52/pub52c4_009.htm
UPS, http://www.ups.com/content/us/en/re...es/firearms.html?srch_pos=1&srch_phr=Firearms
Fedex, http://www.fedex.com/us/freight/rulestariff/prohibited_articles.html

Here is what the ATF has to say about it;
ATF Online - Firearms - Frequently Asked Questions - Unlicensed Persons

Q: May a nonlicensee ship a firearm through the U.S. Postal Service?
A nonlicensee may not transfer a firearm to a non-licensed resident of another State. A nonlicensee may mail a shotgun or rifle to a resident of his or her own State or to a licensee in any State. The Postal Service recommends that long guns be sent by registered mail and that no marking of any kind which would indicate the nature of the contents be placed on the outside of any parcel containing firearms. Handguns are not mailable. A common or contract carrier must be used to ship a handgun.

[18 U.S.C. 1715, 922(a)(3), 922(a)(5) and 922 (a)(2)(A)]