JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So, i am looking into purchasing my first AR. I have been thinking about just building my own, but i don't know any thing about AR's. So that is not going to happen..... at least not until i have some experience with them.

So, my questions is..... What is a good AR-15 for a first time owner? Ive read about the bushmasters and colts. More negative than positive. but i cant rule them out. Since i have never owned one. I'm looking to my fellow gun lovers for their advice. What do you recommend? i am open to all input since I'm sure that there are a lot of people with a boat load of knowledge of the AR.

So help me out. Mainly purchasing it because my wife wants one as well. I gave her the option of an AR or a saiga. she chose AR so i will get my self the saiga. But i still want a good AR that i will be happy with and that she will enjoy shooting, not a ar22. i want the real deal but entry level until i have learned enough about them and feel good enough to build my own.

Lets have it.

I am by no means an expert. I have personally never heard anything bad about a colt other than the price. That being said, it is my experience that most major name AR's are pretty well build. DPMS, Del-ton, BCM, Noveske, Spikes, etc. are all good names and it depends on how many frills you want and your budget. I've heard a lot of good things about Del-ton. They are entry level, well priced, and reliable (all second hand based). That's what i'd be looking at if I was going to buy one.