JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Greetings.

I've decided to murder an extended rest period. I'm a family man who works a lot, and my hours won't let me get a regular schedule in at the gym. Naturally, that is not an excuse to skip exercise! Because I can't hit the gym with a buddy or work out with a trainer, I'm going to get this thing going as a way to hold myself accountable.

My background:
I'm 36 years old. By most standards, I'm very fit. 6'2", 182 pounds-- basically, built like Anderson Silva from the UFC, but with a slightly flatter stomach. Around the time I was 22-23 years old, I was a personal trainer. In my past, I spent years being in the gym 3-5 times each week.

General Goals:
At this stage of life, I am very happy with my weight and general body type. I don't feel the need to gain weight, and I don't need to lose weight. What I do want to do is recover lost capability. I want to regain muscular endurance, and to reestablish the type of good habits that will keep me from losing the shape I have today.

Specific Goals:
In the short term, I want to be able to do 10 pull ups in 1 set, again. I used to be able to do 12 with a 25 pound dumbell between my feet. I should be able to do this.

My plan:
1. I'm giving myself 20 minutes to do pull ups and push ups, 3 times each week. Ideally, I'll be doing them MWF.

2. I'll warm up first to avoid injury.

3. Once I'm ready, I'll do as many as I can in my first set. Once I hit my limit, I'll keep doing sets until I'm at 20+ total done. Pull ups will be done without lower body swinging or kipping up. Negatives will be controlled.

4. Immediately after I drop off the pull up bar, I'll be doing sets of quality push ups. Negatives will be controlled. My back will be straight-- I won't let my butt stick up, or hips sag.

Day 1: (pull ups/push ups)