JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Status
Reactions
I've been making my own BP for almost two decades - in New Mexico, where there is a humidity level of zero. Now in Tennessee, where the humidity sucks It's different. First, I mill my kclo3, which was pearlized. I don't like this stuff. But it's what I got and after milling it felt damp. I believe I make a pretty dern fine charcoal from Willow. Sulphur and binder are pharmaceutical grade. This BP batch stuff is ssllloooowww . I tried putting the rest of the KCLO3 in my vault and turned the de-humidifyier all the way up. After a few days it turned out some really nice product. Now for the other stuff. If I take the "corned" [really screened] BP back to a slurry, will the KCLO3 just come out of the charcoal and be a waist of time? This stuff is for my cannons and there's no way I'd puck it for a flinter.

Maybe the fumes of pure 200 proof alchohol in a closed container, the water in the container will "go" to the achohol drying the air. Then keep the humidity away in an air tight container keeping it from your product. NO static sparks ; be safe.
200 proof is flamable.

Edit: Might do a small test batch in a bottle OR? I'm not sure what achohol will do to the KClO3
Cold will remove water also but really cold like liquid Nitrogen then screen/shake the frost off. ???

Last Edited: