JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to coyote hunting. I don't really want to deal with the learning curve involved with using mouth calls. I've been looking at the foxpro's and other calls. But, I don't really want to take out a loan for an electronic call or pay more for the call than I did for my rifle ..... LOL. These things are way expensive for what the are.

Anyway, I'd like to hear what other options for electronic calls there are and what others have been using and what works. If I can get away with using a 38 dollar E-call, I'd be more than happy ...... if they are worth buying and actaully work.

Ideas?

The problem with electronic predator calls is they all pretty much all sound the same. If you are calling in heavily hunted areas, the coyotes aren't fooled for long, if at all by the battery powered sounds. As for the learning curve of mouth calls, it is very short, sweet and painless for distress sounds. Coyote vocalizations and howling is where it can get tough, if you aren't making the right sounds you can actually warn coyotes to "stay away" from your calls. Pick up a simple closed reed mouth call (I'd recommend a Haydel's Government Hunter Cottontail call for about $7-$10). Watch some coyote hunting videos or predator hunting shows on the outdoor chanel and try to mimic the sounds you hear the hunters making on their calls. Once you master the closed reed mouth call you will want to get an open reed call to be able to make more sounds without changing calls. A great open reed call that I use all the time is actually an elk call (Primos Hyper Lip Single). Learn how to use the mouth calls and I promise, you will be a better caller, enjoy your time in the field more, and stick with it longer.