JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a question-

I have a RCBS 82026 115gr 9mm mould and I poured 350 yesterday and weighed 5 of them today and they all came out between 94.1-94.7. Is this because of my mixture? I don't know what it is because I got the lead from a buddy.

What can I add to it to make it closer to the 115gr? I don't know how I'd load for 94gr so I'm not sure if I have to melt these back down and start again or not.

Thank you for your help

You sure it's not Zinc? :eek::eek:
I'm pretty sure.... I reached out to him to ask if he remembers what it is.

someone on a different message board suggested that maybe my temperature wasn't high enough and it could have been pouring lighter. Not sure if that is a thing or not.
I'm just getting into it so I don't know. I'm going to order a thermometer for it though

I'm pretty sure.... I reached out to him to ask if he remembers what it is.

someone on a different message board suggested that maybe my temperature wasn't high enough and it could have been pouring lighter. Not sure if that is a thing or not.
I'm just getting into it so I don't know. I'm going to order a thermometer for it though
Usually it's the alloy that makes a difference in weight. So i will guess by what you stated that what your friend gave you has a considerable amount of antimony and tin (other stuff?) In it than an alloy like Lyman #2. Since they are lighter than you're recipie just go with the workup. I've never had a problem with a slightly lighter projectile. If you are powder coating or using hi tek and your bullets are right-sized for your gun they won't give you any issues usually. If they are lighter it usually=harder because of the lighter alloy metals. Heavier usually = more lead = softer. No right or wrong in this game just have to find what works well.