JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Atlas Shrugged, a book written by Ayn Rand has recently been turned into a film. For those who havent seen it, I'd recommend renting it. The book is far better and more detailed but if you're not much of a reader like me, the movie will get the point across.
I work in the construction industry and know first hand the damage overregulation, unions and government involvement have caused. Any given state project has so much bs involved, it blows my mind! From environmental impact studies, to unrealistic union wages and benefits, and safety programs that make work nearly impossible to complete. I've seen it all first hand! I know a lot of union members will take issue with me, but i belong to one, unfortunately. I literally cannot work in the seattle area without belonging to one. I'm all for decent wages, but is it realistic for a man to make $35/hr to push a broom? It's a monopoly that is crushing state funds.
I firmly believe the course of Atlas shrugged is the course of our nation. We are becoming a nation that frowns on wealth, hard work and reward. This will only incubate mediocrity. Unfortunately a mediocre USA means big trouble for this planet ultimately. I urge all of you to check out the movie and get involved in the upcoming election. 4 more years of the current administration will propel us to a mediocre nation!!!!!!
Love to hear your thoughts on the movie/issues we face.

I recommend the book before the movie also. I really suggest the audio version of the book which I thought was fantastic and is read complete. It was shortly after I read this book that Boeing was put to the fire for suggesting adding a new plant in a non union state. Private business being told where they could and could not do business by the government? I'd say we are well on our way down the path.