JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So iv gotta buddy who was/is wanting an AR, but then started thinking he may want an AK or sks, which I have no experience with. Iv heard AK's will eat any kinda ammo you give it, but thats about it. I love the AR platform, but whats everyones else's opinions??

1826 posts and you need help here with that subject, search this subject,this must have been argued every gun site 50 times and I dont know how many gun shows on TV this year alone

you must be bored

I have an SKS, with the magazine issues or use stock strippers if money isn't that important I would go with an AR. I think it is the most versatile of the 3. SHTF check, varmints check, plinking check, availability of parts, reliability check , Home defense, decent as well check, pizzing off the liberals PRICELESS!!!!!!:s0112:

Brutus out

i have both ....one thing i like about the ar platform is it is fully customizable to what ever shooting you wanna do.but can be pretty finicky.an ak47 can be thrown in mud, driven over ,then still shoot .i am a fan of both:)

An SKS is probably the simplest and most robust of the three. The bayonet is always on the rifle (although that makes it more difficult to open ration cans), plus the permanently attached magazine doesn't dangle low enough to catch on dense undergrowth.

Of the AR and AK, I am torn between the two.

An AR is highly refined and very versatile...and built for a first-world military with the logistic support to back it up.

An AK is less refined and less versatile, but there is a reason for its popularity in the third-world where a maintenance kit usually consists of a cup of used motor oil and an old shoelace.

Keith

Regarding the original question: