JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
what would be a good powder that burns clean meters well and can load it mild to upper warm,
loading 9mm and 40 s&w, my powder is all gone now :( so when the stores stock again looking to try something
different

I am brand new to loading 40s&w,I have only loaded for it once really.my recipice is 8.0 grs of aa#5 behind 150 gr Nosler jhp bullets.of the few I shot,they seem to be pretty accurate,3" at 10 yrds,and it is a pleasurable load to shoot.

I guess it depends how you shoot the groups. I would be happy with 3" groups unless I was using a rest. I also like AA# 5 for both 40 and 9. I can't find any though.
The group I got was from a weaver stance with a new style pistol,for me.I have a 1911 also and the trigger is very different from this double action only pistol.I do know I need LOTS of practice with it.
What is a good group off a rest?

I like W-231 in the 9mm and the .40s&w I load 5.7grs of W-231 with a 115g rbullet in the 9mm and use the same powder charge with a 180gr bullet in the .40cal.

I like W-231 in the 9mm and the .40s&w I load 5.7grs of W-231 with a 115g rbullet in the 9mm and use the same powder charge with a 180gr bullet in the .40cal.

My Speer 14 book shows a maximum of 4.9gr of 231 under a 155gr Jacketed bullet in 9mm!! I do well at 4.2gr 231 under a 124gr JHP in 9mm.

In .40 the book shows 5.8-6.5 231 under a 155gr jacketed bullet.

A gentleman at the range had suggested for me to use HS-6 in .40 for my CZ75 due to the barrel length, allowing the slower powder to burn fully. The combo gets me great accuracy and burns fully and cleanly. HS-6 measures great too.

I've used Titegroup, Unique, HS-6 and 231 in 9mm. HS-6 seemed good for a warmer load but I've settled on 231 as I don't need hot loads for the range.

Good luck finding any powder for handgun!

Mike