Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

9mm & 40 s&w powder choices

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by JO JO, Apr 5, 2013.

1. JO JO

JO JO Vancouver WA Active Member

what would be a good powder that burns clean meters well and can load it mild to upper warm,
    loading 9mm and 40 s&w, my powder is all gone now :( so when the stores stock again looking to try something
    different

2. tackleberry

tackleberry Vancouver Member

tite group works well I have used it in 9 and 40

3. chainsaw

chainsaw East side of Or. Active Member

I am brand new to loading 40s&w,I have only loaded for it once really.my recipice is 8.0 grs of aa#5 behind 150 gr Nosler jhp bullets.of the few I shot,they seem to be pretty accurate,3" at 10 yrds,and it is a pleasurable load to shoot.

4. MarkAd

MarkAd Port Orchard Well-Known Member

That is not accurate at 30 feet.

Loads I have done in 40 S&W:
    hp-38
    HS-6

PM is you want the data

5. chainsaw

what do you consider accurate out of a 4"barreled Sigma?

6. nwbobber

nwbobber Longview, Wa. Active Member

I guess it depends how you shoot the groups. I would be happy with 3" groups unless I was using a rest. I also like AA# 5 for both 40 and 9. I can't find any though.

7. chainsaw

The group I got was from a weaver stance with a new style pistol,for me.I have a 1911 also and the trigger is very different from this double action only pistol.I do know I need LOTS of practice with it.
    What is a good group off a rest?

8. Twodogs

Twodogs portland Or Active Member

I like W-231 in the 9mm and the .40s&w I load 5.7grs of W-231 with a 115g rbullet in the 9mm and use the same powder charge with a 180gr bullet in the .40cal.

9. Mikej

Mikej Portland Gold Supporter Gold Supporter 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

My Speer 14 book shows a maximum of 4.9gr of 231 under a 155gr Jacketed bullet in 9mm!! I do well at 4.2gr 231 under a 124gr JHP in 9mm.