JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
The American College of Heraldry and Arms, Inc. was an American organization established in 1966 to promote heraldry in the United States. The corporate address of the college was Harbormaster's Building, Herald's Mews on Longneck, Pier 4 Pratt Street, Baltimore, Maryland.The organization was divided into two administrative divisions: the American College of Arms researched inherited arms, verified genealogy, and granted new arms to individuals across the country; the College of Arms of the United States assisted corporate entities, such as businesses and municipal heraldry.
The college was established by Donald Franklin Stewart, William Henry Lloyd, Charles Francis Stein, Jr., and Gordon Malvern Fair Stick. Their titles were, respectively, Chief Herald Marshall, Herald Genealogist, Herald Chancellor, and Telorum Rex.The college employed art students from the Maryland Institute College of Art to paint the armorial achievements and create grant and matriculation documents.On 1 June 1968, the college granted arms to President Lyndon Johnson; the grant was presented to Johnson by Mr. Donald Stewart in the Oval Office of the White House on Monday, June 10, 1968, at 10:00 am, with U.S. Senator Daniel Brewster in attendance. The arms were blazoned Azure on a Saltire Gules fimbriated between four Eagles displayed a Mullet Or.In October 1968, the college granted a coat of arms to Maryland Governor Spiro Agnew. The blazon of these arms was Azure on a Cross between four Horses Heads couped Argent a Cross botony Gules.By January 1969 the college had refused over 1000 requests for arms. The petitions were denied because they were assumed arms or armorial petitions with errors in their genealogy. The college also excluded helms or coronets from their armorial grants.
The college existed until 1970.

View More On
Back Top