JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Okay, I'm new to the Yakima valley, and I saw this in the paper a bit ago. I didn't think much of it at the time, but the more I think about it the more it bugs me. Some excerpts from the article:

<broken link removed>
By the end of the month, county commissioners plan to have metal detectors in place at the lone remaining public entrance on North Second Street.

All visitors will be subjected to the airport-type screening devices to intercept contraband -- weapons or bombs -- before entering the courthouse.
Later, they go on to say:
Eventually, the county wants to move administrative offices out of the building into rented space elsewhere in Yakima, leaving the courthouse solely for courts.

Now, according to the article, if it's accurate, eventually the "courthouse" will be dedicated entirely to courtrooms, judges offices, and prisoner holding facilities. But until then, doesn't this process violate state law?

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.41.300
RCW 9.41.300
Weapons prohibited in certain places &#8212; Local laws and ordinances &#8212; Exceptions &#8212; Penalty.

(b) Those areas in any building which are used in connection with court proceedings, including courtrooms, jury rooms, judge's chambers, offices and areas used to conduct court business, waiting areas, and corridors adjacent to areas used in connection with court proceedings. The restricted areas do not include common areas of ingress and egress to the building that is used in connection with court proceedings, when it is possible to protect court areas without restricting ingress and egress to the building. The restricted areas shall be the minimum necessary to fulfill the objective of this subsection (1)(b).