JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've got a builder kit coming with a 9" hand guard and I'm wanting to do an SBR.

My OG thought was to do a ~9" 300blk with a suppressor for some light, maneuverable, quiet(ish) fun.

But, before committing to anything, am asking all y'all what caliber shorty AR you would build or avoid? The rub here is: I'm a reloading noob and whatever caliber this ends up being, I'll be loading for it…does that promote/discount any options?

The only thing I'm dead set against: I don't want another .223/5.56 gun…other than that, I'm not married to anything at the moment. What do you think?

(Weapon purpose: home defense rifle, range toy, fun, maybe some competition use, fun, etc.)

300 black. Was designed for short barrels. Suppresses well. Don't need special bolt

Or a 11.5" 556

Thats all I got.

The rest aren't worth it in short mode.

You can go nuts and look at oddballs, 338 spectre being one. If 350 legend had more support it would be an amazing suppressed cartridge. 9x39 is another great one, but ammo is not exactly readily available.

By the way, this months builder set is pretty slick! Color me a little envious!
1644248087536.jpeg

From a reloading aspect.

300 black wins again. Tons of 30 cal bullets out there. Uses lots of different powders. Versatile, from fast light supers, to heavy subs.

6.8 bullets aren't always readily available. Brass can be hard to find.

338 spectre is likely easy to reload too, but brass must be bought from specialty shops and or made. 338 bullets aren't cheap.

350 legend sits on shelves here in the west. Uses a broad spectrum of powders. Bullets are very hard to find. Brass likely is sitting on the shelf too. Specialty bullets available but costly.

Last Edited:
300 black. Was designed for short barrels. Suppresses well.

Or a 11.5" 556

Thats all I got.