JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
There was a thread a while back that got me to thinking. It was about self-defense with a big-bore revolver.

The discussion came to center around how few people are any good with magnum revolvers. I made a comment about how many "gun guys" I'd been shooting with who can't shoot well, especially with the .44 Magnum, and I really only know one other guy, besides myself, who can really hit what they aim at with the big-bore magnums.

Truth be told, I don't know or shoot with any serious competitors. I don't doubt that there are plenty of people out there who could outshoot me any day. I've been shooting and practicing for several decades and enjoy shooting for fun, but have never shot competitively even once, so I really don't have much to compare myself to, other than the guys I have shot with over the years. I've never taken any classes or professional training either, occasionally thought about it, but in reality it's not going to happen.

So my question is, what is competence with a handgun? What is proficiency? I'm confident that I'm competent, but true proficiency is another level, and to be honest I don't know what I don't know. What is the measure of proficiency?

I would say proficiency is being able to get consistently good results beyond those achieved by an average person. That extends to anything, not just shooting.

I would further say that competency is not the same as proficiency, just like accuracy is not the same as precision, though they are related.

So my question is, what is competence with a handgun? What is proficiency? I'm confident that I'm competent, but true proficiency is another level, and to be honest I don't know what I don't know. What is the measure of proficiency?