JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So, I have had this rifle that I have been kicking around for a couple of years....

I really do like the setup... Recently got a nice optic on it... Its a Colt A2
carry handle upper with 16" hbar & MOE drop ins

BUT, my impulsive side has been thinking about ditching the carry handle upper and drop in magpuls and going with a free float rail.

Pros: Able to use the same optic as I currently run, MAYBE improved accuracy, non-retro 'tacticool factor'
Cons: Rifle is perfectly fine as is... I do like the A2 carry handle rifles... I can hit what I want to hit as it is.

So, all I really, realistically want this rifle to do is ring an 8" gong at 200m... I can shred a pie plate at 100m all day long as it sits.
Its not a competition rifle, though if I ever had time I would love to do a 3gun match... whatever.
I want it to shoot recreationally and also be able to eliminate two legged threats within 200m.

SO.... is there REALLY any real benefit to free floating? For someone in my position?

Cost isnt an issue... The Colt A2 upper would sell and finance the new handguard, etc.

Im looking for opinions based strictly on performance, etc.

Also looking at getting a Magpul UBR stock for it.
WP_20180123_00_14_00_Pro.jpg

That one in the pic looks like it was a nice A2 that did the Barbie dress-up thing.
I would get that optic off the carry handle (just restore the A2) and put it on your next build.
Arfcom has a sub-forum that will show you what an A2 (or XM177) is supposed to look like.
XM177 forgery (similar to what some GI's actually carried)
xm177vn7.jpg

That's right, just build another one the way you want it.
(and please no civilian 16" carbine gassers)

I have a nice Aero Precision receiver set at NWCF that I might let go cheap.

Last Edited: