JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I’m a newbie to this cartridge reloading and am looking for input. I have a press, been stockpiling my brass, have powder, bullets, manuals, and primers. I reload shotgun and usually reload when I have about 1000-1500 hulls in the empty bin. I plan on processing the brass in batches of about 1000-1500 empty 9mm, or 45, or 223 at a time also.

As I see it, I have the following options.

Corncob/Walnut with Vibratory Tumbler-
Pretty standard set up, used by many reloaders, for many years. Tumbler will cost approximately $50-$150 depending on brand and size. Media is fairly cheap.

Stainless steel and Rotary Tumbler-
Reloaders that have switched to this method claim they would never go back to CC/Walnut, it’s the cat’s meow, best thing they’ve ever done. Cleaner/brighter brass, less dust, etc. You also have to dry the brass afterwards. Initial costs are definitely higher. Rotary Tumbler will cost approximately $180 - $300, and SS media about $50/5lbs. This will hold about 15 lbs of media/brass/water.

Given the relatively low cost of the small electric cement mixer from Harbor Freight or Northern Tools ($150), why not use a cement mixer with stainless media for wet processing or Corncob/Walnut for dry processing? Can this be scaled down to accommodate only 1000-1500 cases? I’m actually thinking of removing the cement drum and attaching some type of PVC drum like they are using on the rotary tumblers; haven’t figured out how to do this yet or come up with plans.

For someone starting out fresh, should I skip the CornCob/Walnut and go straight to SS media?

Why not just use or convert an electric cement mixer ($150) instead of buying a rock tumbler ($200-$300)?

Will an electric cement mixer motor burn out, or turn too slow?

Have I missed something?

Thanks

Seawash