JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Loading M855, 62g .556 with CFE223 and
BL-C(2)
Accuracy is nearly identical in the 2 loads I have selected.
BL-C (2) Velocity reads
CFE223 Velocity reads

One thing I don't know about these powders is temperature sensitivity. Does anyone have any experience that would help me decide on what powder to use? Right now I'm leaning towards BL-C (2) because velocity was faster and more consistent

I have limited experience with those two powders, being primarily a Ramshot TAC guy. But I did a cold weather comparison between TAC, X-Terminator and Hodgdon's Benchmark powder in .223 Rem and 40 gr bullets. Out of a 26" Remington 700 1 in 12" twist barrel, all 3 powders with close to maximum charges achieved 3600 to 3700 fps at over 70 degrees. At 30 degrees, only the Benchmark load was able to top 3600 fps, while the two ball powders barely broke 3300 fps. I had always thought that Hodgdon's "Extreme" line of powders were more marketing than actual, but clearly the ball powders like BL-C2 and CFE-223 are more affected by cold temperatures than the extruded stick powders. I will try to do a similar test with my AR's if the weather will cooperate with heavier bullets and shorter barrels and see if results are similar. FWIW, I tried both of your powders and had much better results with TAC, Benchmark, and Accurate 2015 in .223.
What was your barrel length with your loads? Those velocity numbers are pretty impressive for a 62 gr bullet.