JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
So as some of y'all have guessed , I'm really into original and traditional muzzleloading guns.
I just wanted to put out some of my thoughts on shooting with these guns.
None of this is meant to paint me as some sort of expert. I am not a expert of anything.

First find a rifle that fits you. I'm not talking just about fitting your build or historical interest.
But finding a rifle that you connect with , one that suits your style of shooting or just plain "feels good". It dosen't have to a full blown custom job or original . I've seen plenty of great shooting with a off the shelf model.

Get a routine down of how you load , shoot and clean your rifle. Sick with it until it becomes second nature.
I try to load and clean just like the guys did in the 19th century. No fancy lubes , just spit or bear grease and or tallow , real black powder ( some substitute powders do not well with flintlocks ) , cotton / linen patches , lead round ball and cleaning with soap and water followed by a oily patch to prevent rust.

Practice often. Remember your rifle is not just a "rendezvous toy" . For hundreds of years people have been fed and protected by muzzleloaders.
Take your rifle on a "woods walk" or hike. Try shooting at that small rock or pine cone.
Shoot in different weather and at different times of day.
Using these practices , has helped me become a better shot. I have fed my family , won many a match , prizes and not to forget to mention , out shot some folks with a modern rifle and scope on more than one occasion.

In closing many folks , even those who like muzzleloading , sell their rifles short so to speak.
You have a lot of money and time invested in your rifle , use it to the fullest.
Andy

Thats what I'm here for MountainBear , just fueling the addiction lol .

Bigbaddude,