JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.

Would You Ship Ammo Directly to an Individual in NY State (not NYC)?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, I’m a lawyer and it’s completely legal

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 11 52.4%
  • Heck no, too high a risk for the seller

Votes: 10 47.6%

• Total voters
Reactions
Curious what people think about shipping ammo to non-NYC locations in NY? Also, as dumb of laws as they may be, I am not interested in committing and crimes.

I've had multiple NY State residence telling me it's completely legal. Everything I have read is it has to be shipped to an FFL, even with the MoU to the Safe Act.

Also, from what I found on the gunsaftey.ny.gov website:

"Effective September 1, 2022: Any seller of ammunition or dealer in firearms shall keep either an electronic record, or dataset, or an organized collection of structured information, or data, typically stored electronically in a computer system approved as to form by the superintendent of state police. In the record shall be entered at the time of every transaction involving ammunition the date, name, age, occupation and residence of any person from whom ammunition is received or to whom ammunition is delivered, and the amount, caliber, manufacturer's name and serial number, or if none, any other distinguishing number or identification mark on such ammunition."

I've shipped ammo a bunch, so not worried about the process of shipping it. I just don't ship to certain places where it's illegal…NY had always been on my list of places not to ship to but lately I've had a couple buyers insist it's legal to ship direct to them since they are outside of the 5 burroughs (NYC).

It's 7.62x39…must be hard to get or expensive there. I know a lot of retailers won't ship ammo there. Target Sports does…