JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
From the hideous salt mine with windows where I toil in downtown Portland, I've been watching the new light rail bridge (Tilikum Crossing) going up across the Willamette River from both sides, to eventually join in the middle. Viewed from a mile away, it appears that the two sides have finally met. So here's what I've been wondering:

With all kinds of lasers, GPS and technology that I can't even begin to understand, shall I assume the two spans joined perfectly mid-river when they finally met? Even with precision aiming gear, shift happens, yes? Did they need some bending/fudging to line up when it was time to touch? If they weren't right on, how far off where they?

Was anyone here standing right there when they came together?

Last Edited:
I was an instrument technician for many years. We once had an engineer submit drawings for a calibration jig, wherein we were supposed to machine the parts to 1/10,000th of an inch....AND THEN WELD THEM TOGETHER!!!!????

It is generally the lowest-paid worker who makes the parts fit together. In the field. With no technical support. With only the tools at hand.

In the real world, structures like this are adjusted as they get closer together. The job starts with each end being built as close as possible to the engineer's drawings. As the two structures approach one another, the crews adjust the forms (or framework, if not cast concrete) to gently meld the structures so they meet perfectly.