JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I just left the PDX gun show at the Expo Center and I feel like I just left the hospital after visiting a dying friend for the last time. It had been a year or so since I last went.

Paying for parking and admission to basically look at Keith's Guns inventory just isn't worth the bother any more.

I get that the days of panic buying are over, and that the gun business is a brutal, low margin endeavor, but I've been attending gun shows for over 40 years, and there's just not much meat on them bones any longer.

Not complaining, just sad to see its demise.

Yeah I stopped going 10 years ago.

just overpriced basics you can find at any local gun store.

it's mostly the LGS and their used firearms at almost retail pricing. Not to mention the premium you pay just to park and get in.

your better off surfing the classifieds here

I would hate to see the death of these shows even if their usefulness is so so right now. The what ifs comes to mind. Most local gun shops are either in someone's house/garage or an over priced brick and mortar. How long will it last? Most fell to big box stores which no longer carry the guns you want.

If the laws continue their downward spiral in a few years we'll be saying how great gun shows were and reminisce about jerky and t-shirts. I don't go to PDX but I still go a few times a year to some of the cheaper ones like Albany and Rickreall. You might find a gem like a cc Fanny pack or cheap knockoff knife. Sticking it to Amazon whenever possible.

Gun shows died when you could no longer do private party sales without a BCG. If I have to pay for a BCG/Transfer anyway I would rather buy online at better prices.