JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
What would cause the rim of the neck to not be square, or more precisely, parallel to the base? Is this an issue to fix?

Photo isnt the greatest as I tried to get the light to show the gap. This is twice fired Nosler Premium brass and fully sized, I dont need to trim it but have been to square them up but it keeps coming back.

Selection_001.jpg

Metal bends to pressure. Take 60,000 psi to something and see if it doesn't move a bit.

Metal bends to pressure. Take 60,000 psi to something and see if it doesn't move a bit.
True. Although I'm really surprised how little these cases grow from fireforming. This is my first time reloading an Ackley Improved case and Im impressed with how little it grows. I don't even have to bump the shoulder back when sizing, it just doesn't grow.
But I noticed the uneven rim right away. I trimmed the case down to even them out. Fired them and they grew a couple thou but unevenly. My guess is the brass thickness is uneven but I dont have a way to measure that.

Differences in thickness around the case can cause it to stretch unevenly resulting in a slight "banana" shape.

I suppose a bolt face that's out of square could cause something like that as well.

Differences in thickness around the case can cause it to stretch unevenly resulting in a slight "banana" shape.

I suppose a bolt face that's out of square could cause something like that as well.
I dont think its the bolt face, rifles brand new and a good one Id be ticked to find an issue with it and have to send it back. Im already dealing with a warranty on a brand new unfired gun at the moment too... (still ticked about that)