JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Alright gentlemen, I screwed up.

The other day at the range it comes time to put a fresh coat of paint on my steel silhouette so I slung my rifle and walked to the target rattle can in hand. Set my rifle down near the base of said target so's to not leave it on the hard dirt then i started painting the target with very little foresight. Wind caught some of the overspray and some of it found it's way to my slr 95. So now the whole right side has little white specks all over. Great. Stupid, i know.
Does anyone here have an idea for removing the overspray without messing up the finish? The rifle is in stock form in really great condition and had less than two hundred rounds through it when i acquired it. to say that I'm unhappy about this lapse of judgment is a supreme understatement.

1494455306803-419675823.jpg

Have you tried just some regular gun solvent and a microfiber cloth. I would think it would work fine. I've actually removed overspray with WD40 and a little elbow grease.

Have you tried just some regular gun solvent and a microfiber cloth. I would think it would work fine. I've actually removed overspray with WD40 and a little elbow grease.
Nope, haven't tried anything for fear of damaging my rifles finish. I've heard some solvents will strip the finish, is this incorrect? Or only if you leave it on for a while? I've got hoppes nine so I'll give it a shot. Thanks kruejl!

Nope, haven't tried anything for fear of damaging my rifles finish. I've heard some solvents will strip the finish, is this incorrect? Or only if you leave it on for a while? I've got hoppes nine so I'll give it a shot. Thanks kruejl!

Regular gun cleaning solvents will not destroy the finish of your gun. Neither will WD40.