JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Sometime in the next week I'm going to get a pot, a couple molds (9mm and .40 S&W), and some lead from RotoMetals (Lyman #2). The pot is a Lee 20# pot with bottom pour and the molds are Lee molds. I have no other equipment for this and I've never cast bullets myself nor seen it done in person. I'm interested in guides and videos experienced people think are good. Definitely interested in hearing about disasters and how to avoid them. Interested in opinions on whether the lead I got is a decent choice or if I should think about something else. Basically, I'm a total noob about to do something moderately dangerous and I'd like info.

Wear eye protection, a good hat, gauntlet-style gloves or good quality work gloves, some kind of an apron and solid leather shoes - NOT thongs or anything made of plastic - just in case!

If you can do it outside, then do it outside. Or else have plenty of ventilation.

There are plenty of good movies on Youtube about casting. A decent casting thermometer is also a good idea. Flux can be just beeswax - which is what I use - or something with a fancy name.

You'll need a large folded old towel to catch the bullets on - don't try and pick them up to move them around - they stay hot for a lot longer than you think.

And keep ANY kind of moisture well away from the process - water flashes instantly into steam - which occupies 1700 times the volume it did when it was water - it will explode everywhere, including over you. IOW, make sure that the lead you are melting is bone-dry before you try and put it in the pot.

That'll do to be getting on with....................

Wear eye protection, a good hat, gauntlet-style gloves or good quality work gloves, some kind of an apron and solid leather shoes - NOT thongs or anything made of plastic - just in case!