JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am fairly new to the firearm scene. I have hunted since I was old enough but haven't devoted the resources to growing my collection beyond hunting season. With the purchase of a new pistol, I am HOOKED! First trip out I was able to shoot about 200 rounds, and picked up about 2 garbage bags of trash! It helps when people are camping at the top of the quarry and I showed up at 7:30am, I gave them some time to sleep in while I set targets up and picked up for a half hour.

With a plasma cam at my disposal and some 1/4" plate I jumped right into making a dualing tree before I realized that all these plates people are shooting at are AR500, I work on cars, not metal! I have done some research and everyone says AR500, "dont shoot mild steel, dangerous." They all use rifles to blow holes in the mild steel. I have a .40 and will be shooting 180 grain fmj rounds at it with an intent to add a MarkIV to the safe in the next couple weeks. I only mention this as I am sure the 22 is likely not to dole out enough abuse to hurt the steel, not sure if it will flip the 1/4" plate though.

Is this going to be a waste of time? Will the steel not be able to take the impact?

Picture of the progress.
20180602_203818.jpg
Just need to cut some angle iron to length, weld the brackets in and build a base.

I appreciate any thoughts, suggestions or experience in the matter! Last thing I want is my wife sitting in the hospital waiting to hear if my eye is going to survive with A Christmas Story running through her head. That would make the next gun purchase very difficult ;)

Mild steel will work for pistol plates, but it's not ideal. T1 steel, AR400, or AR500 would be preferred.