JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
This is my first time, so I'm taking it slow. Nothing in the way of an authentic style, just what looked neat to me. .62 Cal. smooth bore.:)

Breach threading-1.jpg Me and a 3' long pipe tapping the breach. That steel sure is tough.
Rifle-1.jpg Roughing out the stock. So far the most expensive piece. I had to buy a 2"x 10" x 6'
Stock-3.jpg Unfinished shotgun barrel from Numrich Arms. $30.00. I think it's a 20ga. Sure was rusty..but cleaned up nicely.:rolleyes:
Rifle-2.jpg Planing the cock and trigger linkage. Cock-3.jpg
Only about 2/3 done. I had to order some more Dremel sanding drums. Next will be the side plate, trigger and linkage. This project sure makes me appreciate someone in the Middle East, hunkered down over his bench making an AK47 out of an old railroad rail.:eek:
Cock-2.jpg A few near misses, but so far no blood has been shed. :):):)

I finished the linkage from the cock to the trigger today and I'm going to have to find a way to lighten the cock.:eek:
It is just too heavy and causes too much friction in the linkage.:(
It's made it from 3/8" aluminum plate, so there is a lot I can carve off without affecting the strength. :rolleyes:
Oh well, back to the Dremel Tool. Sure wish I had a milling machine.:)

Note* If I had a milling machine I could just screw things up faster, he said after making the same piece
3 times.:mad:
I am making some progress though.:D Here is the lock, from plastic to metal. Tonight it was carving the primer pan out of a block of aluminum and making some matches out of cotton cloths line. The front sight is part of a brass hinge soldered to the barrel. Finishing the stock will be last.
Oh, I've lined up some black powder for initial testing. Maybe a week, or so. :)
Lock On-3.jpg Lock Plate-1.jpg