JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Good Morning!!!

I have been reloading for only about 3-4 years, I have invested in some great presses that let me produce a great product quickly and efficiently.

I have recently invested in a beautiful match grade AR-10 (.308) and have decided I only want to shoot match grade ammo out of it. Sooooo I've invested in a single stage press with some high end tools to help me build a great round. As I've been looking and asking around ive noticing you can gauge and adjust just about everything on a round to make it perfect for ones chamber.

With it not being a bolt action rifle I was wondering; at what point am I wasting my time and money on tools and gauges?

- Neck wall thickness gauge
- adjusting tool
-concentricity gauge/tool

Will I see much of a difference with bump sizing over full sizing? (From what I've read, I would have a high % of running into failure to feed issues if I only neck size)

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

More accuracy will come from powder load, COAL, proper headspace and your precision with same volume brass with consistent crimp.

Concentric gauges, neck trimmers will get you somewhere but only once you have exhausted current tweaks.

With that all said, your rifle barrel will probably have more to do with accuracy than any of the above comments.

You cannot neck size, .005" will cause a failure to go into battery... had that on 200 rounds I made.

You can measure headspace and set it back .002-3" smaller than your rifles chamber. I run mine in bolt .005" under for precision rounds, hunting is a little larger gap. Getting a OAL gauge will also help so you can find maximum length for your rifle with each bullet. .025" off lands is what I run and it's too long for the magazine.

Darn that semi auto crimping...