JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've never used open sights before, this is my first time. I zeroed my AR at 100yds with M193 and came up with about a 3"... maybe 3.5" group at the end of the day. Is that good or bad?

next I want to try some premium loads in .223 to compare, but that's another day. I'm not certain how accurate M193 is nore what others get with iron sights. 3" MOA doesn't even compare to what I'm used to with a scope especially at 100yds...

does anyone use iron sights what MOA do you get at 100yds?

good to know, thanks for the replies. I want to try some premium loads now to see if the group improves but didnt want to waste them if my M193 sight in sucked. Plus I might go out to 200 yds next as well...

I like the simplicity of only the open sights on the rifle..... I still am considering a scope, depending on how good or bad I am at longer range its so much simpler.

good to know, thanks for the replies. I want to try some premium loads now to see if the group improves but didnt want to waste them if my M193 sight in sucked. Plus I might go out to 200 yds next as well...

I like the simplicity of only the open sights on the rifle..... I still am considering a scope, depending on how good or bad I am at longer range its so much simpler.

I like iron sights out to 150ish but after that my sight isn't so good. Good enough to hit a milk jug past that but I won't be taking ground squirls at that distance.

I'd play with your iron sights for awhile before you scope or dot is. Especially, if this is the first rifle you've used open sights on. You'll get better with practice for sure.

That's accurate enough for M193.

I was out at the range with a LEO friend and he was sighting in his service AR.

We were using Federal Match. 1.5" groups at 100 with magnified Aimpoint.