JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I had been loading on an RCBS Rockchucker for about 7 years, but I just switched to a Dillon 550.

I am totally impressed with the 550. The volume of rounds it cranks out is amazing to me. However, I am just as impressed with the quality of each of the 4 stages. I really do not see any way in which a single-stage performs any single function in the process better.

My question is whether anyone can suggest a reason to keep the single-stage (other than that it might be useful to have a backup)?

Thanks

Keep it for other jobs such as decapping and so forth. Trust me. You'll be glad you did.

If not, I'll take it off your hands for $50 :D

I have a rockchucker I use all the time even though I have a Dillon 650, a Hornady LNL, and a MEC Grabber for shot shells (I may have an addiction problem):oops:

The single stage is what I use for my large rifle calibers and load development in handgun rounds. Nothing sucks more than to Ioad a couple hundred rounds in short time on your progressive that your handgun doesn't like.

I've had my 550B for a very long time but I still have a single stage press. Sometimes when you're working up a load and just want to load 10 rounds, it's easier on the single stage. Especially when the 550 is set up for .44 Mag and you want to load 5.56.

I still have a rockchucker, a lee single stage, turret and hand press. I still find a use for all of them, I still use my rockchucker for load development on new cartridges I get, before I get the expensive caliber conversion, or for the few cartridges that dont have a 550 conversion, you never know you might want to shoot .577 snider someday.:D

Yes, to all of the above plus: