JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I was wondering( after buying a Lyman 1200 pro cleaner) why even clean the dirty brass. couldn't you just quick wipe with a brasso damp towel to get the burnt powder off? Who cares if its shiney and new looking. Is there any proof that going through the tumbling procedure extends the life of brass at all?

It helps extend the life of the dies more than the brass in my opinion. I dont always clean mine as long as the brass was clean of debri inside and out but I make sure inside has no heavy residue as well as checking primer pocket after removing spent primer. I have been reloading that way for years and have had no issues myself. I would however suggest watching for cracks as tarnish can sometimes make it hard to see them.

I'm not a scientist but it would seem that banging against each other would stress the structural integrity of the case after many hours of tumbling.
I think I'll just wipe off the cases just before inserting them into the dies.

I'm not a scientist but it would seem that banging against each other would stress the structural integrity of the case after many hours of tumbling.
I think I'll just wipe off the cases just before inserting them into the dies.

An ultrasonic cleaner is better as to not hit brass together but also a little more costly. I usually use a little carb cleaner in walnut shell media (cuts down tumble time) then just a quick rinse in dish soap and dry.

talk to me when you done just wiping off 600 9mm cases. If you can handle that you fingers are much better then mine.
Dirty brass is hard on dies hard on chambers and hard on itself.