JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
There are many different methods to clean brass, most of us have our opinions and methods. I clean brass by two methods: a Midway vibratory tumbler with a 50/50 mix of corn cob and walnut shell, and a rotary tumbler with a solution of one quart water, one half cup of vinegar, a squirt of Dawn dish soap. These .45acp cases were pretty tarnished and this is the result of 2 1/2 hours of tumbling. Placed in a bucket, rinsed and agitated for about ten minutes, and left in the sun to dry. I save the liquid method for really tarnished brass, but each time it looks "as new." The key is the rinsing and agitating, insure your cases are well rinsed.

Everyone has their favorite, I thought I'd share mine. I've been using the vinegar rinse for about 30 years and it always works like gangbusters. Understand, there is no need for cases to be bright and shiny, they only be need be cleaned from debris and carbon. I've reloaded and shot plenty of tarnished cases, however there is some personal satisfaction in making them look "new."

brass.JPG brass two.JPG

Last Edited:
For me. I currently use the Frankford Arsenal wet tumbler (7L model) w/SS pins method.

My wet tumbling solution is : water about 1" above the brass, a bit of dish soap and less than a teaspoon of Lemi Shine. Proceed to tumble for the full cycle.

If I'm NOT satisfied. I'll try a second run through.

Yup, the brass cases doesn't have to glint in the sun to be "clean enough".

Aloha, Mark

PS.....In the past, I've also tried....
1) Birchwood Casey chemical brass cleaners.
2) Hot water with a solution of dish soap & vinegar (Lemi shine came later as a substitute for the vinegar). Let it soak with a bit of agitation every once in awhile.
3) Dry (walnut shells or whatever else).....vibrations method.

So far.....I'm loving the wet w/SS pins method.