JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
new(ish) guy here, can someone layout the rules for transporting pistols and rifles to and from shooting areas? i was hoping to do some riding and stop off to practice a little, is it possible to carry in a backpack while on a motorcycle?

thanks

I will start it off here. Transport firearms unloaded at all times. Do not have any rounds in the magazine. I transport my rifles and pistols inside my truck in cases (soft or hard). I have been transporting them around for 15 years and never had a problem. I see no reason why you can't pack a pistol in a backpack just be safe with it and make sure it is unloaded. A rifle in a backpack maybe a problem and I probably wouldn't atempt it. Hope this gives you a little direction. Good luck and safe shooting.

without a carry permit you just need to keep it unloaded and have a lock on it. oregon allows unloaded open carry for non permit holders but not all counties allow it.

new(ish) guy here, can someone layout the rules for transporting pistols and rifles to and from shooting areas? i was hoping to do some riding and stop off to practice a little, is it possible to carry in a backpack while on a motorcycle?

thanks
it is possible to transport by motorcycle only if the gun is in a locked container affixed to the motorcycle OR if the gun has a trigger lock or similar locking mechanism installed. See ORS 166.250(4)(c)

Also, in Multnomah county you cannot have any magazines loaded even if the gun is not with you. http://www.portlandonline.com/auditor/index.cfm?c=28514

or you can get your CHL...

it is possible to transport by motorcycle only if the gun is in a locked container affixed to the motorcycle OR if the gun has a trigger lock or similar locking mechanism installed. See ORS 166.250(4)(c)