JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to this but hoping I can get help well out in the woods this weekend I left my wife in the truck and im curious is there a way to communicate with my cb radio thats in my truck well away from it because she missed out on the bear I was watching because I had to way to tell her to come up where I was and by time i walked down and back bear was gone with that being said not saying she would of got there in time but I could of atleast watched it some more lol

As popular as CB was at one time, it's a thing of the past. Younger folks know very little about it.

Radios are still very available, and cheaper than ever, including hand held (walkie talkie) models.

i offered one up 9 months ago, and never got a sniff.

Personally, I think FRS and/or GMRS is a better option for hunting.

Last Edited:
I'm not a CB guy. I'm a ham radio guy. But a quick search for handheld cb radio produced some results, including this.....

I did Google and saw that and few other jusy wasn't sure if there was possibly a better option maybe like a gmrs that would talk 2 it or if maube I should look into the ham stuff etc

Depending on the range and terrain, if its hilly, a CB walkie (AM) might work better than a GMRS or FRS ( FM) radio, which are both low power and basically liine of sight. You have to raise the walkie's telescoping antenna completly which is very long. Get at least a 1 Watt unit and use an earpiece. Dont forget to remove the batteries, probably about 10 AAs after use. Let us know how how it works. Good Luck.

Hand held CB + very limited power, very limited range.
I did Google and saw that and few other jusy wasn't sure if there was possibly a better option maybe like a gmrs that would talk 2 it or if maube I should look into the ham stuff etc