JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
For Christmas, we are giving him the gift of a Gun Safety course. He is 14 years old, and will be 15 in February. For his 15th birthday we are planning on gifting him with his first handgun. As cautious/concerned parents looking for opinions, thoughts being a 9mm, something he can use for quite sometime and enjoy. Thank you all for you thoughts and a Merry Christmas to all!

Jace

Just my 2¢.

I cherish my Ruger mk1 .22lr I started shooting at age 4.

This last year I bought a mk3 Hunter and shoot the daylights out of it.

A persons choice in higher caliber pistols/revolvers tends to change over the years, a .22lr is cheap and fun to shoot forever.

I would suggest that:
A .22 firearm may be a better choice to start out on...
With its low recoil and noise along with a low cost of ammo , you can get in a lot of practice.
Also in many places a person under 21 is barred from buying handgun ammo....the .22LR is generally not counted as such ...just something to consider.
Andy

I concur with the previous suggestions. I'd say a Sig Mosquito 22LR or you just cant go wrong with a Ruger MKIII. I have a "Hunter Target model" and the thing is absolutely crazy accurate. I would also emphasize that the lighter weight, less recoil and cost of ammo would steer me towards a handgun in 22LR. Lots of practice, lots of shooting, lots of FUN FUN FUN !!!!!!!!

For Christmas, we are giving him the gift of a Gun Safety course. He is 14 years old, and will be 15 in February. For his 15th birthday we are planning on gifting him with his first handgun. As cautious/concerned parents looking for opinions, thoughts being a 9mm, something he can use for quite sometime and enjoy. Thank you all for you thoughts and a Merry Christmas to all!

Jace