JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
For the moment assume guns, ammo and knives are fine in this equation.
For an absolute newbie to prepping, where do you start. My wife is really wanting us to have some go bags and a disaster preparedness space.

Where do you even start? I presume water, food, toilet paper and batteries, and medications. A small water purifier would be gold obviously. But I know some of yall know what the heck you are doing. Right now if SHTF, I'd be in real trouble in a couple weeks.

So assuming you are dealing with someone new to building up an earthquake kit / general mayhem preparedness, where do you start?

Easy way to get going is start a pile of the things you use EVERY day. Then get yourself a bag to put it into and as you get more stuff you add or subtract base on your needs. My truck bag to get me home is much different then my shtf go bag that is at home. One at home is much larger, heavier and much more inclusive.

The best place to "go" in a SHTF scenario is your own home. In reality if it comes down to that type of situation, the streets and public roads will likely be unusable. On top of that, the woods are a horrible place to try and set up a defensive perimeter.

I'd start with food, water, stabilized gas, a generator, reinforced doors and available window barricades.

You start with beans, bullets and band-aids and build from there and always remember that "Two is one and one is none."

Are you starting out from scratch? Are you urban, rural, suburban? Can you bug in securely or will you have to evac?

For the moment assume guns, ammo and knives are fine in this equation.
For an absolute newbie to prepping, where do you start. My wife is really wanting us to have some go bags and a disaster preparedness space.