JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
hey all,

Starters:
I'm an avid novice gardener that has been diving into the vegy world full force for the past 3 years. I've been posting small things about gardening here and there but wanted a more focused group. I hope to collaborate and learn from each other through this forum. Plus it's enjoyable to swap garden ideas and photos.

To get thing started:
What are you all growing this year?

My background/knowledge:
- suburbanite
- has chickens/ducks and they lay eggs (5- ones on death row currently)
- have a vegetable and berrie garden- all kinds of things! They have all been started from seeds cuz I don't cheat
- set up drip irrigation/raised beds
- set up a 330 gallon rain water collection system with a small electrical generator below it that can be powered via gravity (not a big output but it's cool)
- indoor grow lights

General vegitables
Blueberrys and Raspberrys a few Strawberrys
Apple tree espaliered on large arbor
We stick veg's within the flower gardens
150gal rainwater catchment
Drip and soak hoses
A lot of bamboo in containers
Lots a Herbs:)

PS: We have been working and amending this soil, organically for 38yrs.

Last Edited:
Planted some more veggies today! 2 varieties of tomates, 2 varieties of cucumber. Potatoes, sweet potatoes, herbs, carrots, beets already in.
Planted 3 differnt variety of blue berries in pots (for better cross pollination), have strawberries, and a cherry tree.
Did square foot gardening last year, but toning it down this year.
Have some blue orchard bee houses set up by the garden and looking to get some lady bugs and maybe mantis eggs.

Last Edited:
General vegitables
Blueberrys and Raspberrys a few Strawberrys
Apple tree espaliered on large arbor
We stick veg's within the flower gardens
150gal rainwater catchment
Drip and soak hoses