JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I know this has been asked in the past but I don't want to jump into an old thread or take over someone else's.
Anyway, I'm looking to get my first bolt action rifle.
This rifle will be for the purposes of target shooting and Hunting (deer, maybe elk in the future). I'm new to hunting so I want to get my rifle soon in preparation for the season.
1st. For starters, I chose the caliber 30-06 because it seems to be a very versatile round. Good enough for deer and will work for bigger things like elk and others. This will probably be my only bolt action for the forseeable future. If anyone has a strong reason why I should choose something else, let me know..
2nd. I know I want a wood stock, and am willing to spend a bit (see number 3) more for something that looks nice. I like the look and the extra weight isn't really a problem for me. Also I like the look of a blued finish rather than stainless steel.
3rd. Budget: I'd "like" to stay at around $600, but I am willing to go up to around $800 for quality. Then another $200-300 for glass.

One I'm leaning towards is the Weatherby Vanguard Deluxe (829.99 on GrabaGun). I like the look. I wasn't able to feel one in person though as my local sportsmans didn't have one in stock with a wood stock. I did try the synthetic one they had and it felt good in comparison to the others I tried (Tikka T3, Browning X, Ruger .....something or other, and Bergara B14, Remington 700, - -all of these being synthetic)

Being as this is my first bolt, I want to make sure I don't make a mistake getting the Weatherby if there is a better option out there.

Sorry this post is so long.
Also looking for glass recommendations..

Ruger Hawkeye.

upload_2019-2-27_20-14-15.jpeg

Ruger 77 Hawkeye 30-06 Satin/Blue

I think a Leupold 3-9x40 would go well with something like this.