JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
This is my first post and I would appreciate advice if available. I am an attorney in Vancouver, WA. I represent a local Bank who is acting as the Executor/Trustee of an estate. The estate includes various firearms including an AR 15 and other items. The Will of the deceased person instructs that the firearms are to go to a specific relative but the relative does not want the firearms and has asked that the Executor/Trustee sell the firearms and give the beneficiary the cash proceeds.

I am a gun owner myself and I am generally familiar with the rules on transfers including the need to use a FFL if transfers are across state lines or may involve persons who are not eligible to own firearms, but in this situation I have no idea how to proceed to get the highest price, legally, and to make the transfer quickly to provide funds to the beneficiary.

If you can help me I would really appreciate it.

Regards

In this case not going to family it for sure should be transferred though an FFL even in state.

Well to get the highest price depending on the item you have 3 choices. Obviously you also have to figure your time into that cost.

The highest price will probably come from posting on a site just like this since there are no fees, but will also require the most of your time.
Next would be an auction site like Gunbroker where you will end up paying about 3-6% on the total sale. Depending on the items you are selling you may get more money since you will have a larger pool of buyers.
Last would be a consignment with a local gun store. This will be of very low effort to sell but come with usually 20% going to the shop. Also the prices will have to be low enough not to compete with new prices. Say a new one is $500 the consigned one has to be at a price low enough to make the buyer choose it.