JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I've been exploring the woods a lot lately. Got caught behind a downed tree and ended up spending an hour hacking at it with an axe and hand saw.

I don't really want to keep a gas operated saw in the car as well as extra gas too stinky.

Anyone have experience with electric saws?

I've heard the power is the same or better. But, how is battery life?

Thanks!

Reno911

I have quite a bit of experience with electric chainsaws, good ones are good, cheap ones suck.

I have no experience with battery powered chainsaws but I would be highly dubious about the amount of work you could do with one.

I have a Milwaukee electric chainsaw from the 80's.
<broken link removed>
It works great. There are two things to watch out for.
1. Make sure the chain is sharp. A slightly dull chain will cause it to cut slowly.
2. Have a big enough extension cord. Length and size (10/12 guage).

I guess I should add that I'm looking at something battery operated. Basically would be used for getting out of my above mentioned scenario and an occasional trip in to get some wood for the fire pit.

40V MAX* Lithium Ion XR Brushless 16" Chainsaw - DCCS690M1 | DEWALT

Not a recommendation but just experience. I got this dewalt which was ~$300. After about 5 cuts the chain cut into the plastic housing. I replaced the plastic housing (after a terrible experience with Dewalt where they could not get me the part and refused to refund my charge so I had to do a charge back and ordered the part elsewhere). 5 more cuts and it cut into the housing again. (chain was properly tightened) Had to dremel a giant groove into the plastic so it would not catch the chain. Didnt want to pay the huge shipping cost to get a refund.

So I bought a gas chainsaw. so much better. the dewalt is ok for 1" branches.