JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
so i have been reloading with accu # 2 powder and cci primers. and using the small primers for the 45. i load 9 and 40 as well. notice it is very dirty. are there any cleaner powders available. i am new at all of this.

any advice will help thanks...

How heavy are your loads? If you match the pressure with the powder often times you reduce the amount of "dirt", getting more complete combusiton. Don't overdo it to the point you get huge fireballs or pressure signs, but try increasing the load a little.

Personally, I prefer Power Pistol for the cartridges you mentioned but today just having something you can use is a plus. The CCI primers are good primers. Everyone has a preference but for me, they all work. Just match your powder load to the primer and bullet.

I load light loads of AA2 for .45Auto and .38 Special. Dirty is NOT a concern. I clean my guns every 5000 rounds or so. Very accurate powder. Never noticed any dirtiness.
I can not imagine it being dirty at 9x19 or .40S&W pressures.
If you can find the powder, look to N310, Am. Select, AA N100, or Solo 1000. Of these, Solo 1000 is my "preferred" powder, but that would only be if 231/HP38 and AA2 were NOT available.
If you were into accuracy, and not aesthetics, I would recommend AA5 as being the most accurate powder I have found for my .40s for light to mid-range loads and Silhouette for full pressure loads. For 9mm, WSF and Power Pistol are about as good as any and better than almost any others.

IMO, AA#2 would be far from my choice as an all-around powder.

If you're trying to use a single powder for all the calibers listed, I'd recommend w231(HP-38), WSF, or possibly Power Pistol (although I've not personally used it in .45 ACP (I use WST). All of these powders burn very cleanly IMO from mid-range loads to max.