Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Do people still hunt deer with 30/30s

Discussion in 'Northwest Hunting' started by manakiah, Aug 15, 2009.

1. manakiah

manakiah Issaquah Wa Member

Im new to Deer hunting. I have been an avid shooter for years but never hunted. I 'm thinking about picking up a Marlin 336 30/30. Does anyone have any advice on this gun. Thanks Jason

2. JC9995

JC9995 Greater "Clackamas" Active Member

Excellent brush gun. Slow, big and doesnt deflect from small branches and such like the faster rounds do. 30/30 is what I hunted with for years. Great gun, still have it. Your good to go with it to 250 yards or so.

3. finch6013

finch6013 Oregon City Active Member

one of the best for this area. I have used it many times

4. terrylf72

terrylf72 Portland, Oregon, United States Member

I still use a 30-30. Winchester Canadian Centenial. 26" Octagon barrel, holds 10 rounds. Flatest shooting 30-30 I have ever shot and shoots a tad farther then 250 yards.. Have hit a big brass bell at 400. This rifle is blessed.. It was my fathers!

5. WAYNO

WAYNO Oregon City Gold Supporter Gold Supporter Bronze Supporter

Since I'm a Blacktail hunter, I spend a lot of time in the brush. When I'm in a situation where the weather does get in the way of a scope, which can be often, out comes the .30-30, with iron sights, and I'm absolutely not under-gunned. The .30-30 continues to be a GREAT deer cartridge.:thumbup:

And a Marlin 336? As opposed to a Winchester 94? That's a Ford and Chevy comparison. I own both, and they both operate flawlessly. The Marlin is easier to disassemble for cleaning, and I do believe, slightly more accurate than a Winchester. But that opinion would not cause me to choose one, over the other.

WAYNO.

6. shibbershabber

shibbershabber Vancouver Well-Known Member

thats all I use is a 30-30

7. Natty Bumpo

Natty Bumpo Clackamas County Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter