JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello all I could use a little advice on who to talk to and what to do next.

I am a resident of Deschutes County and I applied for a about 3 months ago. The Sheriffs office still have not approved nor denied my CHL application. It is my understanding that Oregon is a shall issue state once submitted the Sheriff office has 45 days to approve or deny said application.

I have been in to the office 2x to inquire and needless to say it is still not resolved. They say they are waiting to hear back from another state about a matter that I was arrested for but not convicted.

Look forward to any responses, ideas and questions about what I should be doing next.

Shall issue to me is exactly what it means. I also am waiting for my renewal. Now 26B business days and counting. Josephine County. However ... in my case we all understand that do to a series of events, Josephine County government is still dead broke.

The very nice, polite and professional deputies at the main jail where I renewed my CCL were all volunteers. The told me upfront that there would be delays. They also gave me a receipt that would work as a carry license until I received my renewal.

We are being held hostage to a situation not of our making. I understand this. I salute the volunteers. The renewal system is not perfect. In retrospect I should have renewed 2 months earlier. Expect delays. The duck is paddling as fast as it can.

I was told to wait until the date I renewed. The guy in charge greatly apologized to me. Not enough lead or processing time was allowed for. It will probably will be another month before I receive the renewal license. I can still legally carry. No problem.

Last Edited: