JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ive been shooting for 23 years and have finally convinced myself to retrain to shoot rifles left handed. What an awkward feeling... When I was a kid and my dad was teaching me to shoot I developed a form where I could use my left eye to shoot right handed, and actually hit stuff. Handguns it wasnt so weird and I still shoot them with my left eye. The rifles were a different story. I guess to a WWII vet it probably looked like a circus act.. My grandpa just about fell over laughing when he seen it and I stopped shooting rifles with my left eye. Now I dont even see how I did it. I can in no way shoot like that. I think my head grew and my neck stiffened up...

So I need tips on switching it up. Besides just shooting a lot. How did you guys do it? Military experiences maybe? Some coaching tips you got along the way? Anything you got. Throw it at me! Thanks a bunch!

I'm cross dominant, used to shoot righty exclusively, but with worsening sight in my right eye, I now shoot both sides depending on where I can get the better cheekweld...usually left stance/left eye when shooting open sights or right stance/left eye when shooting with scopes. I do this from all positions. I found that somewhat practice and a fairly short amount of time were all that were required to get rid of that awkward feeling. I actually shoot now as an open sight lefty better than I did as a righty because I didn't 'relearn' some old bad habits.

Keith

a very simple way to fix your problem but will cost you a little $ is to have your gun stock remade with a slight bend in it so you are shooting r handed but are able to line up your l eye. ___!------- kinda like this.