JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
OK here's the deal I wan't a phone that is a smart phone like an iPhone or Android but I don't want to pay for 3G 4G crap. I do want to be able to surf in Wifi hotspots.

I'm a phone newb, is there a Smart phone a can hack/Jailbreak/unlock or whatever to accomplish this goal?

Mostly I don't want to pay the Cell company extra dollars for web that I rarely use but be able to surf just like I do on my Ipod Touch in hotspots, I'm tired of carrying two devices.

As an old hacker the technical part won't be the problem but knowing what is the best possible phone to pick up is.

I have T mobile voice only currently and I do not want to sign up for any data plan. I want to keep a phone only plan and leach Wifi when it is available so I would like to know my options.

Currently I have a regular sim card cell phone with no Data, just voice, and an IPod Touch, what I want to do is go from carrying two devices to one device without increasing my phone bill cost.

Depends on who your service provider is.

For example, SPRINT tacks on a extra $10 even if your phone isn't 4G. This only applies to Sprint smart phones though, like the blackberrys, etc... jailbreaking your phone is a option if you don't care about voiding your warrenty. If you want a decent smartphone to browse the internet with, then you're going to end up paying for it. There's no way around it.