JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I got a promo email from the NRA recently about buying insurance that pays your legal bills should you have to shoot someone in self-defense. It is aimed at people with CCW permits who carry regularly. Apparently the insurance is a rider on a more standard policy of some sort. Does anyone have any further information on this? Good idea? Ripoff?

Or there's also Self Defense Shield which you can find out about at usconcealedcarry.com These sort of "insurances" would be worthwhile if you ever had to use a gun in self defense. I bet they would be a great help to George Zimmerman.

This is not meant to be legal advice and your mileage may vary. Just so you know my background I work in the insurance industry handling claims and had some experience with injuries resulting from violence. Before buying additional insurance read your homeowner's or renter's policy. Both policies include liability coverage and most people don't realize that the liability coverage isn't just attached to the home. You have liability coverage throughout the US and usually the world as well. Look in the exclusion section for intention injuries. Most policies written today that I see have an exception if you are using reasonable force to protect persons or property.