JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
With the way the economy sucks I have been considering building an AR. I am a novice so there's the problem. After looking around I am more lost than anything on how to start where to start whats good and what to stay away from. Basically I need some guidance. Money is going to be a factor........Thanks

The best advice I could give you is to head on over to AR15.com & read till your eyes hurt. they have tons of info on every aspect of the weapon, including tutorials for begining builders. good luck!

If you really want to build from the ground up you need to read any and all material you can find. When I built mine I did alot of research on m4carbine.net use the search it is your friend. It is really no were near as hard as people think. If you can do general machine work or wrench twisting you should be fine. The specialty tools are nice but not needed if you have access to a good about of tools. If you want to buy a lower and a upper and pin them together there are lots of good companies out there.

Super easy to do. Buy a stripped lower, go to a good shop (like Curt's in Oak Grove or Wild Bill's in Molalla) and tell them you want everything needed to build your lower. Buy a cheap upper from Del-Ton, slap it on and you're good to go! I assembled mine on my coffee table following a video on YouTube.

Greg

Head over to a VFW or American legion. Ask for a Marine who would show you around the M-16. You also could visit the VA hospital. and ask around. you might check with the national guard about attending one of their classes.

Wouldn't it be nice if there was a class that taught you all the ins and outs about the AR15? I've been looking to get one for a while now but am in the same situation as you.

There almost is on AR15.com Plenty of tutorials and pictures to get you through this.