JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I built a stand for my hanging gongs using these sawhorse brackets. While it works great, the chain is breaking far too often (especially when hit with 5.56). Is there a type of chain I can (and should or should not) use that is more resistant to being stuck by bullets?

No being a SmartA$$ at all, but try not to hit the chain. Heavier chain will hold up longer but just delay the inevitable. No chain out there will withstand multiple hits from 5.56 and is resistant to being struck by bullets!

I've been using those brackets for a few years, great way to make portable hangers;):D

As for chains, all I know is bigger is better but if your hitting the chain at all it's going to break, especially if you're using green tip ammo.

Good info guys. I'm pretty good about not hitting the chain. The beginners I take shooting? Not so much :)

I'm also a little concerned that if the chain didn't break it might ricochet in an unsafe direction.

Try using heavy cable! You can get it in small enough lengths, and very thin making it harder to hit, you can also swedge it easily enough with hand tools and should be cheaper then chain!

Or, you could use some of this chain, each link weighs about 100 pounds, but should hold up to just about any thing under a 5 inch HE round! Prolly only need a few links per side:p:D:p
marking%2Bchain%2Bnavy.jpg

see if you can find old fire hose and cut it into strips. it sucks when you hit the chain and the target falls down

just search for used fire hose or fire hose by the foot on ebay.

I can say rope doesn't work for sure:p

A guy I took shooting brought some 8" plates and 1/2" rope to hang them up.

Took 4 shots with his 5.56 at 100 yards ok.

Only took one hit from my 7.62x39 to yank it off.

He said he loosened it up before i shot it, so I one shot the other 3.