JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Status
Reactions
So, one of my wife's clients asked my wife what type of hand gun I would recommend to put down a horse (I'm assuming it's one of her own, ya I know about assumptions). I haven't provided an answer yet. I know if it were me I'd likely grab my .357 Marlin with heavy softpoints or if it had to be a handgun one of my .357 revolvers with the same load.

However I have no experience putting down a horse.

I'm looking for recommendations from people that have ranch experience as to what would work humanely for a couple that have little firearms experience. Presently the only firearm that I know of on their horse farm is his AR-15.

Ideas?

That is a sad day. :(
I do not have any experience either, so I wouldn't even guess. I bet someone on here knows. I struggled with putting down my dog for a long time. I cannot imagine having to do that to an animal I had for possibly 20 years... My condolences to your friend.

Why do they not call a veterinarian to come and do this humanly and cleanly, and take the 'personal' questions and involvement out if it?

Do they understand the potential 'graphic' nature of 'putting down' an animal with a firearm?

I guess a bit more information may help.
She is a thoroughbred breeder however I suspect this question pertains to the rescue and rehoming that she participates in with some of her friends. I know that sometimes by the time a rescue gets to them it's too late to save them and not a lot of money is available for vet's.

Not real sure why I'm being asked except they know I'm a gun guy. I'm sure not a horse guy, hell I wouldn't even know how to stump break one.:s0004:

In .50AE
Go big or go home
SVimg-DE50TG__39645.1515511755.jpg_c=2&imbypass=on.cf.jpg