JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm thinking about getting one of those new Benchmade 581 knives, the super steel stuff. However I have been hearing that Benchmade knives can be made much sharper than they come out of the box. I am also a total noob when it comes to sharpening and don't trust myself at all. And since Benchmade is in the area, I was wondering if it would be a good idea to get one of these knives and then directly take it to their sharpening center?

I do not trust myself AT ALL when it comes to sharpening anything more expensive than a wooden stick. So do you think the Benchmade sharpening center would take a factory edge and make it really nice?

I can tell you the Benchmade's come SHARP! I have a small collection of them and everyone who checks them out is impressed. Just had a new blade put on one that I broke and it does not take much to cut some skin. My buddy thought he would shave some hair and cut himself in the process. I think you need to buy the knife and be the judge. I can tell you one thing, Kershaw & Gerber do not hold a candle to the Benchmade's. I took my Gerber in last year to have it sharpened ($3) Benchmade is free, but it came back duller than what is was to begin with.
I am impressed with the Benchmade stuff. Good quality and local which makes it a big plus.
Good luck with your purchase, and let us know what you think when you get it!

Sharpest knife I've ever had out of the box. Have a scar from my first 5 minutes of ownership that concurs, never felt a thing. tacins7923 -- did you take it to the factory to have it sharpened? How much duller did it comeback -- I thought they resharpened the blades to factory spec? Haven't had mine long enough yet to take it in.